A History of Taekwondo

In this section:

  1. Ancient Times
  2. Period of Three Kingdoms
  3. Koryo Dynasty
  4. Yi (or Chosun) Dynasty
  5. Japanese Colonisation of Korea
  6. Modern day Taekwondo
  7. Chung Do Kwan (the first School)
  8. The Lineage for Chun Ma Taekwondo
  9. Key Facts for Students

Previous < Chung Do Kwan

The Lineage of Chun Ma Taekwondo Up

The lineage of our school goes directly back to the very first post-WWII school, Chung Do Kwan as follows:

Grand Master Lee Won Kuk
Grand Master Son Duk Sung
Grand Master Uhm Woon Kyu
Grand Master Kim Yong Ho
Master David Sutherill

Key Facts Up

The following are the key historical facts that our senior students need to remember:

In ancient times, there were three kingdoms:

  • Koguryo
  • Paekche
  • Silla

The warriors of the Koguryo kingdom were the Sonbae. The warriors of Paekche were the SuSah. The warriors of the Silla kingdom were the Hwarang. Hwarang-do means "Way of the Flowering Manhood". Silla eventually conquered the Paekche and Koguryo kingdoms.

Ancient forms of Taekwondo were known as Subak and Taekkyon.

In 1935 the Warrior statues, "Keumgang Yoksa" were uncovered in Taekwondo-style stances. These can be found on the emblem for the World TaekwonMudo Academy.

Japan invaded Korea in 1910 and occupied the country until the end of World War II in 1945. During this period, the practice of Korean martial arts was forbidden though it did carry on in secret. Some Koreans were taken and taught Japanese martial arts.

Grand Master Lee Won Kuk opened the first Taekwondo school called Chung Do Kwan in 1944. Chung Do Kwan means "Blue Wave School". He was permitted to open the school in 1944 by the Japanese governor due to his legal connections. GM Lee learned Shotokan Karate under its founder when he went to Japan at the age of 19. Grand Master Lee's most senior black belt was asked to take over the school but he left for North Korea so his next black belt Son Duk Sung took the role.

Grand Master Uhm Woon Kyu succeeded GM Son Duk Sung within Chung Do Kwan. GM Uhm Woon Kyu is Grand Master Kim Yong Ho's instructor who in turn was Master David Sutherill's instructor.

The first 5 principle schools of Taekwondo are:

  • Chung Do Kwan
  • Moo Duk Kwan
  • Song Moo Kwan
  • Jido Kwan
  • Chang Moo Kwan

During the 1950's, efforts to unify the various Kwans were attempted. Initially, the Korea Taekwondo Association (1959) was formed which was replaced by the Korea Taesoodo Association (1961) and finally the Korean Taekwondo Association (1965).

The World Taekwondo Headquarters is called the Kukkiwon and was opened in 1972.

The World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) formed in 1973.

Grand Master Kim Yong Ho formed the World Taekwon-Mudo Academy.